School of Information Science and Engineering of Yunnan University

School of Information Science and Engineering of Yunnan University was founded in April 1998 upon the former two departments and one center (Department of Computer Science, Department of Information and Electronic Science, and the Computing Center of Yunnan University). The school has incorporated the Computing Center of Yunnan Province since December 2015 and become the largest school in Yunnan University. Today, the school continues to attract students to study diverse programs, with about 1200 students into the full-time undergraduate curriculum, over 640 postgraduate students for master degree programs, as well as more than 50 PhD students. Currently, the school has 140 faculties, including 8 winners of Yunnan Province Young and Mid-aged Academic and Technical Leader, 21 winners of Yunnan Province Young and Mid-aged Technology Innovation Talent, 3 reserved talents for Yunnan Province Young and Mid-aged Academic and Technical Leader, 2 provincial experts with outstanding contribution, 1 national expert with outstanding contribution; Among which, there are 27 professors, 58 associate professors (or senior engineers), and 16 doctoral supervisors.

The School of Information Science and Engineering adheres to the school-running concept: “people oriented, teaching and educating, honest and pragmatic, learned and innovative”; moreover, the School sticks to combine science and engineering, optimize the specialty structure, and create brand majors. Nowadays, the school is composed of 4 departments and 3 centers, namely Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Department of Communication Engineering, Department of Electronic Engineering, Department of Information and Electronic Science, the Experiment Center, the High Performance Center and the Yunnan Province Electronic Computing Center. The shool offers 5 undergraduate programs: Computer Science and Engineering (national characteristic specialty), Communication Engineering, Electronic Information Science and Technology, Electronic Information Engineering and the Internet of Thing Engineering. The school has one doctoral program: Information and Communication Engineering (first-level discipline); 13 master degree academic programs: Computer Software and Theory, Computer Application Technology, Computer System Structure, Service Science and Engineering, Communication and Information System, Signal and Information Processing, Artificial Intelligence and Pattern Recognition, Bio-medical Engineering, Electric Circuits and System, Detective Technology and Automation Equipment, System Engineering, Control Theory and Control Engineering and the Internet of Things Engineering; and 3 master degree professional programs: Computer Technology, Electronic and Communication Engineering, and Control Engineering.

The school has excellent research platforms and teams: one Postdoctoral Station of Information and Communication Engineering; 3 Yunnan Province Key College Laboratories: the Lab of Network Communication and Smart Computing, Digital Media Technology Lab and the Lab of Spectrum Sensing and Borderland Wireless Security; 1 Academician Workstation of the Department of Yunnan Provincial Science and Technology; 1 engineering laboratory of Yunnan Provincial Development and Reform Commission; 2 Kunming Key Labs; 1 innovative team of Yunnan University. Collaborating with companies and institutes such as Yunnan Branch of China Construction Bank, the Yunnan Astronomical Observatory and China Mobile, the school has built a number of joint laboratories and practice training centers. Over the last years, the school develops a variety of advantaged and characteristic disciplines, including Big Data and Knowledge Engineering, Multi-media Information Processing and Visual Computing, Distributed Computing and Cloud Computing, Pattern Recognition and Intelligent Information Processing, Bio-medical Engineering and Mountain Sickness Diagnosis, Wireless Access Networks and Devices, Borderland Radio Spectrum Detective, and so on.

In recent 5 years, the school conducted more than 200 research projects from national/provincial departments or companies, obtaining research fund up to 68 million yuan. Among them, there are over 40 NSFC-funded projects with 16.35 million research funds, over 20 provincial projects and over 120 application projects with research fund as much as 32 million. Furthermore, the school has gained more than 10 national/provincial science and tech awards, including 1 National Technology Invention Award, 1 First prize of Natural Science in Yunnan Province and 3 Second Prize of Natural Science in Yunnan Province; published over 600 research papers and more than 20 academic books; owned more than 40 national invention patents. Many of our research achievements have been widely used and gained good social and economic benefits. The School has made significant contributions for the local economic development and high-level professional training of Yunnan Province.

Current Leaders

Party committee leaders

   Secretary:Zhengpeng Zhao

   Vice Secretary:Yiquan Wang

Executive leaders

  Dean:Xuejie Zhang  

  Deputy Dean:Kun Yue

  Deputy Dean:Yuanyuan Pu

  Deputy Dean:Wenhua Qian

  Deputy Dean:Jing Lu


  Teaching Secretary: Ying Yu 

  Scientific research secretary: Hao Wu 

  Subcommittee (Engineering Group 2) Secretary: Guowu Yuan 

  Foreign Affairs Secretary: Zuhui Ma 

  Information Secretary:  Jixian Zhang

Department / Experimental Center, Degree Director

Department of Experimental Center Director

  Department of Computer Science and Engineering: Xiaobin Zhou 

  Department of Communication Engineering: Bo Li 

  Department of Information and Electronic Science: Lansheng He 

  Department of Electronic Engineering: Jianhua Chen 

  Internet of Things Department of Engineering: YuanYuan Pu

  Information Engineering Department (Public Computer Teaching Department): Jie Liang 

  Experimental Center: Kefeng Zhou 

Degree Director

  Computer Science and Technology:  Wenhua Qian

  Information and Communication Engineering:  Yufeng Zhang

  Control Science and Engineering:  Hong Liang

  Biomedical Engineering: Junhua Zhang